Department Operations

Shift Operating Schedule

The Chanute Fire Department works under a modified Kelly schedule, with three five person shifts. Shifts start at 0700 and work 24 straight hours. The Chanute Fire Department operates out of two fire stations located at 8 E. 2nd and 3001 S. Santa Fe in Chanute. The department covers 144 square miles including the City of Chanute and three townships (Big Creek, Canville, and Tioga). The fifteen members of the Chanute Fire Department are well trained and highly skilled in many areas including basic fire protection, life safety inspections, arson investigation, HAZ-MAT, and technical rescue.